Passion-Based Project

Passion-based projects intrigue me. I think that is because I do not recall doing a project like this when I was in school. I am interested in knowing if it something that students look forward to doing. Of course, I did projects in high school. However, I felt like I was just going through the motions. I was just doing the projects to get them done and get a grade. They were not something that I enjoyed doing. I am curious to see how this goes for me.

Image result for passion-based learning

I have to admit that I did not know exactly what I wanted to do when I first read this assignment. I felt like there were a lot of options for me because of the interests that I have. I could do something with teaching, fishing, crafting, woodworking, and so much more. I looked into the project some more and narrowed my options down.

Finally, I came up with the topic of self-care. I do not always have the best self-care but it is something that I see making a difference in my life one way or another.

Image result for self care"

I have seen self-care have a large impact on myself and others around me. Think about your life. When you are doing things for yourself that you enjoy, you are happier. The second that you stop doing those things, you can see a difference in your self esteem, attitude, and your all around presence. For example, this summer I was working out at least 4 times a week, I was going to church, and eating healthy. Now, half way into the school year, I am not doing any of those things.

I can see a direct relationship with how I am acting because of the things that I stopped or started doing. I have also found that self-care affects the people around me. If my friends stop doing the things that they love, or the things that make them feel good, their attitudes change.

Because of this, I am very interested in learning more about self-care and how it can help people in many different ways. I think it could be fun and helpful to learn different techniques with self-care. I will hopefully get my life back together here shortly and start doing the things that I did before. Overall, I know that it will make me happier and I will get my (more) positive attitude back.

Author:

I am enrolled in the Class Children's Literature and Literacy in the Digital Age. I am looking forward to learning more about blogging and I am hoping to keep up on the blogs once these classes are finished. Happy Blogging!!!! :)

4 thoughts on “Passion-Based Project

  1. Shayla, you have so many good points! I think it’s super easy for us to get caught up in our day to day lives that we sometimes forget that we still have to take good care of ourselves! I think working out can be such a good thing for everyone, especially myself, although I do not do it as often as I should!

    Like

    1. That’s exactly what I think! I have noticed a difference in myself when I am doing things for myself. When I stop doing those activities I start to see myself slowly fall apart. I look forward to learning more about it in this class!

      Like

  2. I also had a really hard time deciding what to do for my Passion-Based Learning project. Even after I decided, I thought of a few more things I could do like learn the ukulele that has been sitting in my a corner of my bedroom or learn Hindi in order to speak to my in-laws. I didn’t once think about self-care. That is an amazing topic. I also stopped exercising and eating healthy, which has caused me to be less and less energetic. I am excited to follow your journey and be inspired by your progress.

    Like

    1. Katy,
      I have actually been very pleased with what I am learning about self-care. I know that it has a huge effect on everyone’s lives and I too look forward to seeing how it changes my life. We need to remember to put our selves first sometimes and figure out what our priorities are.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment